A Spiritual Cushion 11/9

Am I going through the pains of life or am I growing through them?

Depends on the day really.

I have a disease that took me to places I never thought I would go JUST TO AVOID PAIN.

I had no defense to handle life except to ingest things that would numb me.

I am not sure where or how I picked up the concept that life would NOT be difficult. But I surely thought and still sometimes think that everything should run smoothly and go exactly how I want it to.

But then life dope slaps me in the back of the head and says “Hiiii! Remember me!”

Today I can laugh, because it is exactly how I accept the difficulties. I realize they are opportunities for growth in some area of my humanness.

Today I have what is referred to as a “Spiritual Cushion”. I feel the pains of life and difficulties happen but I have the comfort of gods grace to soften the blows a bit.

Rather than reaching for a drink or a drug I reach for things that soften my angst through spiritual principles. Harmony, calmness, kindness, ease, gentleness, acceptance.

Whether I find those feelings in a recovery meeting by listening to others or out in nature by myself I know they exist and I seek to connect.

This is what recovery has taught me to do.

Published by gracefuladdict

I am a true addict living my life one day at a time in recovery. I have been substance free -meaning NO drugs or alcohol since 5/23/10. My intention is to share my experiences daily in the hopes to free others from the fears of being who they truly are. My wish is to bravely tell my truth so others can tell theirs as well. I want to be free of self hatred and doubt. I want to live a life of joy, kindness, love and grace. Thank you!

16 thoughts on “A Spiritual Cushion 11/9

  1. Now that is the greatest love there is dear lady, you no longer have to reach for anything to make you feel better, what you now stand in is an acceptance of you and it alone makes you feel wonderful. That is finally loving yourself. That is the one thing in life we have ever looked for…and you found πŸ˜€ ❀️ πŸ™πŸ½ πŸ¦‹

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ❀️i believe it’s amazing Grace πŸ’œ and it reminds me of Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz when Glenda the good witch tells her shes had the power all along –
      Thank you Mark I hope your computer is all better πŸ™πŸ’œβ€οΈπŸŒˆ

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you kind lady, and I wish my computer had the power all along 🀣 But alas it is still testing me. I am being blocked quite strongly and I’m being obstinate so I had better ‘listen’ as I tell everyone else…or it might bite me or something πŸ˜€ I have a feeling I’m supposed to be outside for something…probably my health πŸ˜€ ❀️ πŸ™πŸ½ πŸ¦‹

        Like

Leave a comment